Landscapes of Central Columbia River Basin

It seems I have little time for blog writing these days, as my summer is speeding by.  Family health issues are the  top of my priority list followed closely by shooting events, shows and jobs.  Because of this I have found myself falling further behind on some of my projects that don’t have time limits, this blog included.  So, for the time being, my blog writing will be sporadic.

2107DKBA couple of weeks ago, my friend Sonia accompanied me on a day trip to Central Columbia Basin as I wanted to photograph the harvesting of the grain.  Grain fields near The Dalles, Oregon, are vast and planted on rolling hills with Mt. Hood and Mt. Adams in the background, perfect for landscape photography.  Some of the fields were already harvested and some had already been burned adding texture and contrast for photographing. 2188DKBMy goal of capturing images of large combines working three or more abreast, cutting the grain, was not to be as the only combines I found were being worked on or parked unattended on the edge of a field.

Driving through the rolling agricultural hills I came upon an old abandoned farm house.2134DKB  My mind conjured up a story as to why this once beautiful home was abandoned.  Was it bad well water, foreclosure due to bad times, or the death of the last family member?  The whole scene was forlorn as the skeleton of a large tree added to the sadness of the abandoned property.

I love all landscapes from coastal to high desert as each has it’s own special geography of textures and colors.   I find photographing landscapes the most relaxing thing to do besides visiting a spa!

Prints available at   www.deebrowningphotography.com

Published by

Dee Browning photography

I am a photographer/artist who's passion is to seek out and capture images,create images and or journal my findings in surroundings I find myself in that lead to contemplating the art of living. Visit my website at https://www.deebrowningphotography.com https://www.facebook.com/deebrowningphotography https://www.facebook.com/deebrowningart © All images are copyrighted. All rights are reserved.

Leave a Reply

