Harvest Moon

Late in the day, my husband, friend Sonia, and I went to Pittock Mansion in Portland Oregon to watch the rising of the Harvest Moon.  Pittock Mansion is a historical landmark here in Portland built-in the west hills.  It’s vast grounds affords one a view of North Portland, Mt. Hood and last evenings rising of the Harvest Moon over the Cascade range.   When we arrived a mass of photographers had already staked claim to prime spots so I had to contend myself to the left overs. The moon had already made its appearance by the time I got set-up.  Shutters clicking and subdued voices were all one heard as all eyes/lens focused on the annual harvest show.

Though the day had been warm, fall is apparent in the soft breeze that developed as dusk descended, raising goose bumps on one flesh.    Bringing only the moon into focus to reveal the craters that cover its surface softens the foreground of the Cascade Range.  I love the dreamy effect this has on the composition, for the sky represents a dream scape for me.    After I had captured this shot, I decided to see if I could get closer to the edge of the hillside to get an unobstructed view of the north section of the city below and Mt. Hood.  A video-photographer had set-up a video and digital cameras on time lapsed in a prime location.  Seeing me looking for a place to set up, he offered a spot next to him.  After carefully avoiding all the cables of his equipment,  I finally got set-up and took the shot I was after using my wide-angle lens, a Nikon 17-35mm, as the mountain and moon were too far apart for my telephoto lens. Satisfied with my captured image, I then turned my attention to the time lapsed equipment.  I had a nice conversation with the photographer and his assistant while I watch the screen showing a live feed of the moon trekking an arch path into the sky.   I assume this girl was his assistant though they looked good as a couple also.  Could be she was both.

As the moon continued to rise I made my way back to where my friend and husband were waiting on a park bench, my progress slowed by conversing with fellow photographers.  We are a strange bunch as we normally are quite shy and reserved.  When working behind the lens we become energized as we strive to capture the scene that captivates us.

Viewing the harvest moon has me looking forward to the fall colors and salmon run.

Published by

Dee Browning photography

I am a photographer/artist who's passion is to seek out and capture images,create images and or journal my findings in surroundings I find myself in that lead to contemplating the art of living. Visit my website at https://www.deebrowningphotography.com https://www.facebook.com/deebrowningphotography https://www.facebook.com/deebrowningart © All images are copyrighted. All rights are reserved.

Leave a Reply

